Courses are limited to MT groups by registration or invitation only (last update 16.04.2021)

The distribution of this artwork MUST include the notice of copyright
(O. Pernet, left, and Neyts lab, right) that appears on this copy for “educational NON-commercial use only.

ICTV Taxonomy

Bunyavirales (12 families)

Herpesvirales (3 families)

Mononegavirales (11 families)


Picornavirales (8 families)

  • Upcoming class: Flaviviridae

Riboviria > Orthornavirae > Kitrinoviricota > Flasuviricetes > Amarillovirales > Flaviviridae

Riboviria is a realm of viruses that was established in 2018 to include:

  • all RdRp-encoding RNA viruses (kingdom: Orthornavirae) and then was expanded to include
  • RdDp-encoding retroviruses (kingdom: Pararnavirae) as well.

This realm mainly includes most eukaryotic viruses.

Orthornavirae comes from Greek ὀρθός [orthós], meaning straight.  [rna], refers to RNA, and –[virae] is the virus kingdom suffix.

Kitrinoviricota comes from Greek κίτρινος [kitrinos], meaning citron. [viricota] is the virus phylum suffix.